2015 Big Sky Champions
SUU Womenís Tennis Begins Big Sky Homestretch
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 04/10/2013
Files available Print RSS

**For the complete release, please click on the associated link.**

CEDAR CITY, Utah. - Southern Utah University women’s tennis will continue its Big Sky Conference season this weekend with a single match at Northern Arizona on Friday morning. The contest will be played at the Enchantment Resort in Sedona, Arizona beginning at 9:00 a.m.

SUU will enter the weekend riding a four-match winning streak, including three straight wins over conference opponents. The Thunderbirds are currently in fourth place in the Big Sky standings with the top six spots qualifying for the conference tournament.

Southern Utah will close out the regular season next week with matches at Montana State and Montana and the home finale against Weber State on April 18.

Fans can follow the match against NAU online with live stats anticipated to be available online at www.suutbirds.com.

Scouting Northern Arizona

Northern Arizona will enter the match this weekend with an overall record of 14-9, including a 6-2 mark in Big Sky Conference play. The Lumberjacks have won eight of their last nine matches with their only conference defeats coming against Sacramento State (5-2) and Montana State (6-1).

Notable Streaks

Alex Ivanova is currently riding an eight-match winning streak at No. 3/No. 2 singles and has won nine of her last 10 matches.

Veronika Rogova is on a six-match winning streak at No. 2/No. 3 singles and has paired with Anastasiia Vasileva at No. 2 doubles to form a perfect 6-0 record.

Fri. Feb. 5
vs. South Dakota
6:00 p.m.
Sat. Jan. 30
vs. Utah State
5:00 p.m.
Fri. Apr. 24
@ Big Sky Tournament
TBA
Tue. Apr. 14
vs. Idaho State
(L) 1 -6
Fri. Apr. 10
vs. Portland State
(L) 3 -4
Thu. Apr. 9
@ Northern Arizona
(L) 0 -7 POST
Sat. Feb. 6
vs. Portland State
12:00 p.m.
Sat. Feb. 13
vs. Idaho
2:00 p.m.
Sat. Feb. 13
vs. Youngstown State
10:00 a.m.
Sun. Feb. 14
@ UNLV
2:00 p.m.
Fri. Feb. 19
vs. Colorado Mesa
3:00 p.m.
Sat. Feb. 20
vs. Grand Canyon
2:00 p.m.
Wed. Feb. 24
@ Dixie State
2:00 p.m.
Sat. Mar. 5
vs. Texas State
10:00 a.m.
Sun. Mar. 6
vs. UNLV
2:00 p.m.
Twitter
Facebook