41 BB games
Thunderbirds' Winning Streak Snapped Against NAU
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 04/12/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
SENDONA, Ariz. - Southern Utah University women's tennis fell to Northern Arizona 5-2 on Friday at the Enchantment Resort in Sedona, Arizona. The loss snapped a three-match winning streak for the Thunderbirds and moves the team to 9-6 overall on the year and 4-3 in the Big Sky Conference. NAU improved to 15-9 overall and 7-2 in conference.

SUU secured its first point in the match with a win at No. 2 singles from Alex Ivanova. The junior posted her ninth consecutive victory, besting NAU's Ghizelene Doballah 7-5, 6-1. Ivanova has yet to lose a match in the Big Sky Conference with a 7-0 record and 12-3 mark overall this year playing at No. 2 and No. 3 singles.

Nastia Vasileva captured Southern Utah's second point in the match with her victory at No. 5 singles. The freshman came back from a 6-2 loss in the first set to post a 6-4 win in the second and force a third-set tiebreaker. Vasileva wrapped up the match with a 10-6 win in the third, running her winning streak in singles to five.

Southern Utah will be back in action on Monday and Tuesday, concluding its Big Sky Conference road slate at Montana State and Montana, respectively.

Tennis Match Results
Southern Utah vs Northern Arizona
Apr 12, 2013 at Sedona, Ariz.
(Enchantment Resort)

Northern Arizona 5, Southern Utah 2

 Singles competition
1. STONE, Hannah (NAU) def. KUNZ, Olya (SUU) 6-2, 6-3
2. IVANOVA, Aleksandra (SUU) def. DOBALLAH, Ghizelene (NAU) 7-5, 6-1
3. VANG, Johanna (NAU) def. ROGOVA, Veronika (SUU) 6-3, 6-3
4. WAHINEPIO, Malia (NAU) def. SKARAS, Madeline (SUU) 6-4, 6-3
5. VASILEVA, Anastasiia (SUU) def. PACAUT, Alice (NAU) 2-6, 6-4, 1-0 (10-6)
6. PEREZ, Nicole (NAU) def. STAHELI, Afton (SUU) 6-2, 6-0

 Doubles competition
1. STONE, Hannah/VANG, Johanna (NAU) def. KUNZ, Olya/IVANOVA, Aleksandra (SUU) 8-2
2. DOBALLAH, Ghizelene/PEREZ, Nicole (NAU) def. ROGOVA, Veronika/VASILEVA, Anastasiia (SUU) 8-6
3. PACAUT, Alice/WAHINEPIO, Malia (NAU) def. SKARAS, Madeline/STAHELI, Afton (SUU) 9-7

Match Notes:
Southern Utah 9-6, 4-3 BSC
Northern Arizona 15-9, 7-2 BSC
Order of finish: Doubles (1,3,2); Singles (4,3,1,2,6,5)

Fri. Apr. 25
@ Big Sky Championships
TBA
Sat. Apr. 19
vs. Northern Arizona
(L) 3 -4
Sun. Apr. 13
@ Eastern Washington
(W) 5 -2
Sat. Apr. 12
vs. Seattle
(W) 5 -2
Fri. Apr. 11
@ UNLV
10:00 a.m.
Sun. Apr. 6
@ Weber State
(L) 3 -4
Sat. Apr. 5
@ Idaho State
(L) 2 -4
Wed. Mar. 26
vs. Air Force
() Rained Out
Tue. Mar. 25
vs. Seattle
Bally's Tennis Complex
(W) 4 -3
Sat. Mar. 22
vs. Montana State
(W) 4 -3
Fri. Mar. 21
vs. Montana
2:00 p.m.
Tue. Mar. 18
vs. North Dakota
(W) 5 -2
Mon. Mar. 17
vs. Northern Colorado
(L) 3 -4
Sat. Mar. 15
@ Sacramento State
9:00 a.m.
Fri. Mar. 14
@ Portland State
(L) 2 -5
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App