Benson and Wells Capture Doubles Win as T-Birds Fall
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 04/13/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
SEDONA, Ariz. - Southern Utah University's Troy Benson and Bryton Wells became the first duo in the brief history of the men's tennis program to post a victory with an 8-4 win at No. 1 doubles on Saturday. However, the team was still left looking for its first win of the year as the Thunderbirds fell 7-0 to Northern Arizona in Sedona, Arizona.

Despite the victory from Benson and Wells at No. 1 doubles, the Lumberjacks were still able to get the doubles point with a clinching win at No. 2 doubles (8-3), having also won No. 3 doubles (8-2).

NAU then collected straight-set victories in each of the singles contests. Benson and Branden Olcott extended their matches the longest in 6-1, 6-2 defeats at No. 1 and No. 6 singles, respectively.

The loss drops the T-Birds to 0-11 on the year, the first in program history, with the team closing out its 2013 home slate with two matches on April 18 and 19. SUU will host Weber State on Thursday morning at 10:00 a.m. with an afternoon match pitting the Thunderbirds against Portland State on Friday at 1:00 p.m.

Tennis Match Results
Southern Utah University vs Northern Arizona
Apr 14, 2013 at Sedona, Ariz.
(Enchantment Resort)

Northern Arizona 7, Southern Utah University 0

 Singles competition
1. SCHIMMELBAUER, P. (NAU) def. BENSON, Troy (SUU) 6-1, 6-2
2. BERMUDEZ, Dominic (NAU) def. WELLS, Bryton (SUU) 6-0, 6-2
3. MARTIN, Robert (NAU) def. DIAL, Alex (SUU) 6-0, 6-0
4. BLACK, Kester (NAU) def. NIELSEN, Spencer (SUU) 6-1, 6-0
5. BARRIOS, Alan (NAU) def. CHRISTENSEN, Russ (SUU) 6-0, 6-0
6. LALELI, Sarp (NAU) def. OLCOTT, Branden (SUU) 6-1, 6-2

 Doubles competition
1. BENSON, Troy/WELLS, Bryton (SUU) def. BLACK, Kester/WATERS, Shaun (NAU) 8-4
2. BERMUDEZ, Dominic/SCHIMMELBAUER, P. (NAU) def. DIAL, Alex/NIELSEN, Spencer (SUU) 8-3
3. MARTIN, Robert/UNGER, Trevor (NAU) def. CHRISTENSEN, Russ/OLCOTT, Branden (SUU) 8-2

Match Notes:
Southern Utah University 0-11, 0-7 Big Sky
Northern Arizona 4-17, 1-7 Big Sky

Thu. May. 14
@ NCAA Championship
Fri. May. 8
@ NCAA First and Second Round
Fri. Apr. 24
@ Big Sky Championship
Sat. Apr. 18
@ Northern Arizona
9:00 AM
Fri. Apr. 17
vs. Portland State
11:00 AM
Fri. Apr. 10
vs. Weber State
(L) 1 -6
Sun. Mar. 29
@ University of North Dakota
(L) 1 -6
Fri. Mar. 27
@ Northern Colorado
Mon. Mar. 23
vs. Eastern Washington
10:00 AM
Sun. Mar. 22
@ Seattle
9:00 AM
Sun. Mar. 22
@ Grand Canyon
2:00 PM
Sat. Mar. 21
@ Idaho State
(L) 1 -6
Fri. Mar. 20
vs. Idaho State
11:00 AM
Thu. Mar. 19
vs. University of Idaho
1:00 PM
Wed. Mar. 11
@ University of Montana