Basketball season tickets banner
Thunderbird Basketball Connects with Fans at Family Fitness Night
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 09/27/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

CEDAR CITY, Utah - The Southern Utah University basketball teams were out visiting local elementary schools again this week, this time it was a trip to Iron Springs Elementary for a special "Family Fitness Night." Thor was also on hand to add to the excitement.

The Thunderbirds took to the courts for several games of "knockout" with the students and some even took a run at the fitness course. All of the student-athletes made some new friends, in addition to picking up a few new fans.

Both basketball programs donate a significant amount time working with local schools and community programs it what is just one of many ways in which the athletics program at SUU looks to expand the educational experience of student-athletes beyond the classroom.

"Our team had a great time, we always enjoy the chance to get out and spend time with the community," stated SUU assistant women's basketball coach Jill Mahoney. "Kids are our biggest fans and it is always fun to see them meet the athletes."

Basketball practice begins this weekend, with the start of the season just over a month away. SUU will host its annual "Basketball Bash" on Oct. 23rd, giving kids another chance to come out and meet the athletes.

Sat. Nov. 22
vs. Utah Valley
(L) 75 -85
Sun. Nov. 16
@ Miami (Oh)
(L) 63 -76
Fri. Nov. 14
@ Kansas State
(L) 68 -98
Sat. Nov. 8
vs. Arkansas-Fort Smith (Exhib.)
(L) 72 -73
Sat. Nov. 1
vs. San Diego Christian (Exhib.)
(W) 79 -57
Sat. Oct. 18
vs. Red vs. White Preview
2:00 p.m.
Wed. Nov. 26
vs. Eastern Kentucky
7:00 p.m.
Sun. Nov. 30
@ UTSA
11:00 a.m.
Sat. Dec. 6
vs. St. Katherine's
7:00 p.m.
Sun. Dec. 14
@ Boise State
4:30 p.m.
Fri. Dec. 19
@ Loyola Chicago
6:00 p.m.
Mon. Dec. 22
@ Arkansas Pine Bluff
Las Vegas Classic
1:00 p.m.
Tue. Dec. 23
@ South Carolina State or Abilene Christian
Las Vegas Classic
TBA
Sat. Dec. 27
@ UNLV
8:00 p.m.
Thu. Jan. 1
@ Portland State
8:00 p.m.
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App