SUU Gymnastics Heading to Minneapolis for 2014 Regionals
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 03/24/2014
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
CEDAR CITY, Utah - Southern Utah University gymnastics will continue its season in Minneapolis, Minn. and compete in the 2014 NCAA Regionals the first weekend of April. The meet, which will be hosted by the University of Minnesota, is one of six NCAA regional contests that will be held on April 5.

SUU finished the 2014 regular season ranked No. 26 in the nation and will be joined in Minneapolis by No. 2 Oklahoma, No. 11 Illinois, No. 14 Minnesota, No. 19 California and No. 31 San Jose State. The Thunderbirds will be facing all but San Jose State for the first time this year, having bested the Spartans in San Jose on Feb. 28 (195.925-195.775).

Southern Utah last made a regional appearance in Minneapolis in 2008 where the Thunderbirds finished fifth. Three-time All-American Elise Wheeler advanced to the NCAA Nationals for the first time in her career following the meet by way of a sixth-place finish in the all-around with a 39.225.

The meet is scheduled to begin at 6:00 p.m. (CT) and coverage of the meet will be available online at www.suutbirds.com.
Sat. Apr. 5
vs. NCAA Regionals
() 5th, 195.150
Sat. Mar. 22
@ Mountain Rim Gymnastics Championship
() 3rd, 196.125
Fri. Mar. 14
@ Utah State
(L) 195.550 -196.000
Fri. Feb. 28
@ San Jose State
(W) 195.925 -195.775
Mon. Feb. 24
vs. Brigham Young
(W) 195.600 -195.525
Fri. Feb. 21
@ Brigham Young
(W) 195.500 -195.375
Fri. Jan. 9
@ Arizona State
TBA
Fri. Jan. 16
@ Utah
TBA
Fri. Jan. 23
@ Boise State
TBA
Fri. Jan. 30
vs. Brigham Young
TBA
Mon. Feb. 2
vs. Ball State
TBA
Fri. Feb. 6
vs. San Jose St.
TBA
Fri. Feb. 13
@ Brigham Young
TBA
Fri. Feb. 20
@ Utah State
TBA
Fri. Feb. 27
vs. Utah State & Denver
TBA
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App