SUU Menís Tennis Ends March with Montana on Friday
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 03/25/2014
Files available Send this article to a friend Print RSS
**For the complete release, please click on the associated link.**

CEDAR CITY, Utah - Southern Utah University men’s tennis will continue its season on Friday when the Thunderbirds host the University of Montana on the Thunderbird tennis courts at 2:00 p.m.

SUU last faced Montana in the program’s first match in 2013 and fell to the Grizzlies, 7-0, picking up just three games over the nine matches.

Scouting Montana

The University of Montana will enter the match on Friday with an overall record of 4-8 on the year, including a 2-0 mark in the Big Sky. The Grizzlies have picked up their wins over Gonzaga (5-2), Portland State (7-0), Sacramento State (5-2) and Utah State (7-0).

UM swept the Thunderbirds last season in Missoula, 7-0, in the first match in the history of the SUU men’s tennis program.

This is the Place

Southern Utah’s roster of six all hail from the state of Utah.

Sophomore Season

Southern Utah men’s tennis is only in its second year of existence, joining the Thunderbird family in 2012-13.

Record Setting Wins

SUU has logged two singles victories in 2014 after not picking up a singles point last season. Troy Benson captured a 6-3, 6-2 win over North Dakota’s Josh Oothoudt and Alex Dial won his first set over Idaho State’s Austin Miller, 6-3, before Miller withdrew because of an injury.

Benson also picked up his second career doubles victory with a 9-8 (7-1) win over UND’s team of Oothoudt and Bakke. Benson teamed with Blair Robbins for the result.
Fri. Apr. 25
@ Big Sky Championships
TBA
Sat. Apr. 19
vs. Northern Arizona
10:00 a.m.
Sat. Apr. 12
@ Weber State
11:00 a.m.
Fri. Apr. 11
@ Idaho State
1:00 p.m.
Wed. Apr. 9
@ Eastern Washington
3:00 p.m.
Fri. Mar. 28
vs. Montana
2:00 p.m.
Mon. Mar. 24
@ Idaho State
Darling Tennis Center
(L) 1 -6
Mon. Mar. 24
@ Seattle
Darling Tennis Center
10:00 a.m.
Sun. Mar. 23
@ Grand Canyon
Darling Tennis Center
2:00 p.m.
Fri. Mar. 21
@ UNLV
3:00 p.m.
Tue. Mar. 18
vs. North Dakota
(L) 1 -6
Mon. Mar. 17
vs. Northern Colorado
2:00 p.m.
Wed. Mar. 12
vs. Montana State
12:00 p.m.
Mon. Mar. 10
@ Portland State
6:00 p.m.
Sun. Mar. 9
@ Sacramento State
3:00 p.m.
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App