SUU Men's Tennis Shows Improvement Despite Loss to Montana
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 03/28/2014
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
CEDAR CITY, Utah - Southern Utah University men's tennis suffered a 7-0 defeat to the University of Montana on Friday, but showed marketable improvement over the first time the two teams faced last season.

The Thunderbirds only picked up three games in the first meeting against the Grizzlies, also the first match of the program in 2013, but picked up 18 games over the course of nine matches in the 2014 contest.

No. 1 and No. 3 pairings recorded the best showing in doubles, falling to Montana 8-3 in each match. In singles, Blair Robbins and Mitchell John, playing at No. 2 and No. 6, each collected three games in a 6-1, 6-2 loss and 6-0, 6-3 loss, respectively.

Southern Utah will have more than a week off before taking back to the courts when the Thunderbirds travel to face Eastern Washington on the road on April 9.

Tennis Match Results
Montana vs Southern Utah University
Mar 28, 2014 at Cedar City, Utah
(Thunderbird TC)

Montana 7, Southern Utah University 0

 Singles competition
1. CARUK, Mikolaj (UM) def. BENSON, Troy (SUU) 6-1, 6-1
2. WARREN, Andrew (UM) def. ROBBINS, Blair (SUU) 6-1, 6-2
3. SOLTYKA, Tomasz (UM) def. DIAL, Alex (SUU) 6-1, 6-1
4. BRANZBURG, Semion (UM) def. STORY, Ammon (SUU) 6-0, 6-0
5. VAUGHN, Ethan (UM) def. OLCOTT, Branden (SUU) 6-0, 6-0
6. MIMNAGH-FLEMING, P. (UM) def. JOHN, Mitchell (SUU) 6-0, 6-3

 Doubles competition
1. VAUGHN, Ethan/BRANZBURG, Semion (UM) def. BENSON, Troy/ROBBINS, Blair (SUU) 8-3
2. CARUK, Mikolaj/MIMNAGH-FLEMING, P. (UM) def. DIAL, Alex/OLCOTT, Branden (SUU) 8-2
3. WARREN, Andrew/BRAUN, Eric (UM) def. STORY, Ammon/JOHN, Mitchell (SUU) 8-3

Match Notes:
Montana 5-8 (3-1)
Southern Utah University 0-10 (0-6)
Order of finish: Doubles (1,2,3); Singles (4,5,2,6,3,1)

Fri. Apr. 25
@ Big Sky Championships
TBA
Sat. Apr. 19
vs. Northern Arizona
10:00 a.m.
Sat. Apr. 12
@ Weber State
11:00 a.m.
Fri. Apr. 11
@ Idaho State
1:00 p.m.
Wed. Apr. 9
@ Eastern Washington
3:00 p.m.
Fri. Mar. 28
vs. Montana
2:00 p.m.
Mon. Mar. 24
@ Idaho State
Darling Tennis Center
(L) 1 -6
Mon. Mar. 24
@ Seattle
Darling Tennis Center
10:00 a.m.
Sun. Mar. 23
@ Grand Canyon
Darling Tennis Center
2:00 p.m.
Fri. Mar. 21
@ UNLV
3:00 p.m.
Tue. Mar. 18
vs. North Dakota
(L) 1 -6
Mon. Mar. 17
vs. Northern Colorado
2:00 p.m.
Wed. Mar. 12
vs. Montana State
12:00 p.m.
Mon. Mar. 10
@ Portland State
6:00 p.m.
Sun. Mar. 9
@ Sacramento State
3:00 p.m.
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App