Men's Tennis Falls to Weber State in Ogden
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 04/12/2014
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
OGDEN, Utah - Southern Utah University men's tennis played its final road match of 2014 on Saturday, falling to Weber State 7-0 in Ogden. The loss drops the Thunderbirds to 0-13 on the year and 0-9 in conference play while the Wildcats remained undefeated in the Big Sky with a 9-0 record and an overall mark of 13-9.

Freshmen Ammon Story and Mitchell John played the closest match in doubles, falling 8-3 at No. 3 to Weber State's duo of Caio Poitena and Dylan Hansel. John returned in singles to take two games in the first set of his No. 6 singles matchup 6-2 before falling 6-0 in the second.

Senior Alex Dial and sophomore Troy Benson led the T-Birds with three games in singles as Benson dropped a 6-1, 6-2 decision at No. 1 singles and Dial fell 6-2, 6-1 at No. 3 singles.

Southern Utah will close out its 2014 regular season when the Thunderbirds host Northern Arizona on April 19. The match with the Lumberjacks is scheduled for 10:00 a.m. on the Thunderbird Tennis Courts.

Tennis Match Results
Southern Utah vs Weber State
Apr 12, 2014 at Ogden, UT
(Edman Courts)

Weber State 7, Southern Utah 0

Singles competition

1. GEWERT, Jakub (WSU) def. BENSON, Troy (SUU) 6-1, 6-2
2. GOOD, Oliver (WSU) def. ROBBINS, Blair (SUU) 6-0, 6-1
3. POITENA, Caio (WSU) def. DIAL, Alex (SUU) 6-2, 6-1
4. BARLOW, Landon (WSU) def. STORY, Ammon (SUU) 6-0, 6-0
5. GOSWAMI, Sanjay (WSU) def. OLCOTT, Branden (SUU) 6-0, 6-0
6. GARNER, Ryan (WSU) def. JOHN, Mitchell (SUU) 6-2, 6-0

Doubles competition

1. GOOD, Oliver/GARNER, Ryan (WSU) def. ROBBINS, Blair/BENSON, Troy (SUU) 8-1
2. GOSWAMI, Sanjay/SMITH, James (WSU) def. DIAL, Alex/OLCOTT, Branden (SUU) 8-1
3. POITENA, Caio/HANSEL, Dylan (WSU) def. STORY, Ammon/JOHN, Mitchell (SUU) 8-3

Match Notes:

Southern Utah 0-13; 0-9 BSC
Weber State 13-9; 9-0 BSC
Fri. Apr. 25
@ Big Sky Championships
TBA
Sat. Apr. 19
vs. Northern Arizona
10:00 a.m.
Sat. Apr. 12
@ Weber State
11:00 a.m.
Fri. Apr. 11
@ Idaho State
1:00 p.m.
Wed. Apr. 9
@ Eastern Washington
3:00 p.m.
Fri. Mar. 28
vs. Montana
2:00 p.m.
Mon. Mar. 24
@ Seattle
Darling Tennis Center
10:00 a.m.
Mon. Mar. 24
@ Idaho State
Darling Tennis Center
(L) 1 -6
Sun. Mar. 23
@ Grand Canyon
Darling Tennis Center
2:00 p.m.
Fri. Mar. 21
@ UNLV
3:00 p.m.
Tue. Mar. 18
vs. North Dakota
(L) 1 -6
Mon. Mar. 17
vs. Northern Colorado
2:00 p.m.
Wed. Mar. 12
vs. Montana State
12:00 p.m.
Mon. Mar. 10
@ Portland State
6:00 p.m.
Sun. Mar. 9
@ Sacramento State
3:00 p.m.
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App