SUU Faces BYU in Final Warm-up for WAC Championships
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 03/18/2012
Files available Send this article to a friend Print RSS

CEDAR CITY, Utah - March 17 - Southern Utah University gymnastics will compete in its final regular-season meet on Monday afternoon when SUU faces Brigham Young University in Provo. The meet will be the team’s final warm-up before the Thunderbirds compete for the Western Athletic Conference Championship on March 24 in Logan.

SUU will enter the meet having scored its best mark of the season last weekend with a 195.875 against Boise State. The meet included the fourth-best beam mark in school history as the Thunderbirds tallied a 49.300 on the event.

Southern Utah has yet to beat the Cougars this season, falling to BYU at home on January 20 (194.800-194.050) and in Provo on February 25 (194.100-193.925). SUU hasn’t been swept by Brigham Young since the 2007 season.

Fans can follow the meet via a live stats link that is anticipated to be available online at www.suutbirds.com. In addition, an interactive blog will be available online for fans to connect with each other during the meet. BYUtv will also be covering the meet live with fans able to tune in over the air or online at www.byutv.org.

Scouting Brigham Young

Brigham Young University will enter the meet on Monday afternoon with an RQS of a 194.685 which puts the Cougars, No. 33 in the country.

BYU has season averages of 48.714 on vault, 48.500 on bars, 48.217 on beam and a 48.544 on the floor exercise. Megan Bain leads the Cougars on vault and beam with season averages of 9.833 and 9.825, respectively. Natalie Pickard is tops on the team on bars with a 9.825 average with Krysten Koval leading the team on floor with a 9.784 average.

Last time against Brigham Young

Southern Utah came in a close second at Brigham Young University on February 25, falling to the Cougars 194.100 to 193.925.

Fit to be Tied

SUU head coach Scott Bauman’s only tie of his career came against BYU in Cedar City during the 2008 season when both teams scored matching 195’s.

For the complete release, please click on the associated link.

 

Sat. Apr. 5
vs. NCAA Regionals
() 5th, 195.150
Sat. Mar. 22
@ Mountain Rim Gymnastics Championship
() 3rd, 196.125
Fri. Mar. 14
@ Utah State
(L) 195.550 -196.000
Fri. Feb. 28
@ San Jose State
(W) 195.925 -195.775
Mon. Feb. 24
vs. Brigham Young
(W) 195.600 -195.525
Fri. Feb. 21
@ Brigham Young
(W) 195.500 -195.375
Fri. Dec. 5
vs. Red v White Intersquad
7:00 p.m.
Fri. Jan. 9
@ Arizona State
TBA
Fri. Jan. 16
@ Utah
TBA
Fri. Jan. 23
@ Boise State
TBA
Fri. Jan. 30
vs. Brigham Young
TBA
Mon. Feb. 2
vs. Ball State
TBA
Fri. Feb. 6
vs. San Jose St.
TBA
Fri. Feb. 13
@ Brigham Young
TBA
Fri. Feb. 20
@ Utah State
TBA
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App