41 BB games
Click Captures Bar Title as Thunderbirds Finish Third
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 03/24/2012
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
LOGAN, Utah - March 24 - Southern Utah University gymnastics finished in third place at the Western Athletic Conference championships on Saturday night, but it was junior Alyssa Click that provided the highlights with an individual title on the uneven bars with a school-record 9.925.

Click also took home first-team all-conference honors on the balance beam, leading the event until the final rotation with a 9.900 which put her in second place. She was followed closely by Brooke Cersosimo with a 9.850 who took home second-team all-conference honors for her fifth-place finish.

Southern Utah opened the meet on vault, scoring a 48.425 with freshman Jamie Armijo leading the way with a 9.775. She was joined in the 9.700 range by Brittney Jensen (9.750) and Brooke Cersosimo and Caitlin Kennedy with matching 9.700's. Freshman Ana Jaworski rounded out the team score with a 9.500.

Following a bye, the Thunderbirds moved to the uneven bars where Click took the individual title with her school-record. Cersosimo was next for Southern Utah with a 9.850, just missing all-conference honors by .025. Michaela Chernoch finished third for the T-Birds with a 9.800 as Lauren Jeffrey and Jamie Armijo rounded out the team score of 48.825 with a 9.650 and 9.600, respectively.

Southern Utah recorded its best team score of the night on balance beam with Click and Cersosimo leading the way with their all-conference marks en route to a team score of 49.025. Caitlin Kennedy's 9.825 on the event narrowly missed an all-conference finish by .025 as the junior finished in seventh place with Jaworski (9.775) and Chernoch (9.675) rounding out the team score.

The Thunderbirds wrapped up the night on floor, finishing with a 48.750 as each scored gymnast tallied a 9.700 or higher. The freshmen duo of Jensen and Armijo was tops for the T-Birds with matching 9.775's, followed by Jaworski and Kennedy with 9.750's and Click with a 9.700.

The University of Denver finished the meet with the conference title after scoring a 196.350 with Sacramento State in second with a 195.675. San Jose State (194.800) and Utah State (194.775) rounded out the team finishes.
Sat. Apr. 5
vs. NCAA Regionals
() 5th, 195.150
Sat. Mar. 22
@ Mountain Rim Gymnastics Championship
() 3rd, 196.125
Fri. Mar. 14
@ Utah State
(L) 195.550 -196.000
Fri. Feb. 28
@ San Jose State
(W) 195.925 -195.775
Mon. Feb. 24
vs. Brigham Young
(W) 195.600 -195.525
Fri. Feb. 21
@ Brigham Young
(W) 195.500 -195.375
Fri. Jan. 9
@ Arizona State
TBA
Fri. Jan. 16
@ Utah
TBA
Fri. Jan. 23
@ Boise State
TBA
Fri. Jan. 30
vs. Brigham Young
TBA
Mon. Feb. 2
vs. Ball State
TBA
Fri. Feb. 6
vs. San Jose St.
TBA
Fri. Feb. 13
@ Brigham Young
TBA
Fri. Feb. 20
@ Utah State
TBA
Fri. Feb. 27
vs. Utah State & Denver
TBA
Twitter
Facebook
Web Ad for iPhone App