Ann Clappier to Take Part in USA Volleyball Open Tryouts
Courtesy: SUU Media Relations
Release: 02/20/2014
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
CEDAR CITY, Utah - Southern Utah University freshman Ann Clappier will join 248 athletes from 106 colleges and universities this weekend in open tryouts for the U.S. Women's National Team, Feb. 21-23. The tryouts will provide an opportunity for a spot on the U.S. Women's National Team and/or the U.S. Collegiate National Team.

Clappier represents the third Thunderbird to take part in the tryouts, following Ana Mailoto in 2011 and Courtney Lelepali in 2010.

The Pocatello, Idaho product finished her freshman campaign second on the team with 200 kills and 104 blocks last year, averaging 1.96 and 1.02 per set, respectively. In addition, she recorded season highs of 15 kills, 32 attempts, three digs, nine blocks and one assist.

Fans can follow the tryouts via a free video stream online at, beginning at 2:00 p.m. (MT) on Friday afternoon.
Sat. Oct. 3
vs. Northern Arizona
7:00 p.m.
Thu. Oct. 1
vs. Eastern Washington
(L) 1 -3
Sat. Sep. 26
@ Portland State
(W) 3 -0
Thu. Sep. 24
@ Sacramento State
(L) 2 -3
Sat. Sep. 19
@ Portland
Fresno State Tournament
(W) 3 -0
Fri. Sep. 18
@ UC Davis
Fresno State Tournament
1:30 p.m.
Thu. Oct. 8
@ Montana State
7:00 p.m.
Sat. Oct. 10
@ Montana
7:00 p.m.
Thu. Oct. 15
vs. Idaho State
7:00 p.m.
Sat. Oct. 17
vs. Weber State
1:00 p.m.
Thu. Oct. 22
vs. Northern Colorado
7:00 p.m.
Sat. Oct. 24
vs. North Dakota
7:00 p.m.
Thu. Oct. 29
@ Weber State
7:00 p.m.
Sat. Oct. 31
@ Idaho State
7:00 p.m.
Thu. Nov. 5
@ Idaho
7:00 p.m.